It’s Just Speaz

That’s All…

Introducing Wee Bear December 5, 2008

Filed under: Baby Sanchez #4,Firsts,Life in Gallup,Parenting — justspeaz @ 2:31 pm

IT’S A GIRL!!!!

Jillian Abigail Sanchez

jillian

 

December 01, 2008

10:15 pm

7lbs 12oz

20.5in

 

I’ll spare you most the gory details, but my water broke at 6:30pm on the first, while my parents were here having dinner, that was fortunate, because they were able to take the kids straight from the house for us.

Contractions started right away 3-4 minutes apart. We got to the hospital and got settled at about 7:30. The nurse checked me around 8:00 and I was dilated to 4. At about 9:00 the nurse came back to move me to a bigger room, and to check me again. By this time the contractions were all in my back and coming more quickly. I was dilated to 5, so I asked how long I would have to wait to get an epidural. This, my friends, is where my whole evening derailed. The nurse gave me a shocked look and asked whether or not my Dr had discussed this with me. Nope, never talked about pain relief. “Oh,” says the nurse, “we don’t have any anesthesiologists on nights or weekends, so you probably won’t get an epidural, but I can talk to your Dr about it and see what he can do.” So, now I’m trying not to go into panic mode… I’d never had a birth without an epidural, and I really wasn’t planning for this to be the first!

The nurse moved me into the new room, and brought in a drug called Nubain, which “probably won’t do anything, but help you rest in between contractions.” (her exact words). And, it didn’t I couldn’t even rest in between, because at this point there really wasn’t an in between. Rob (my knight in shining armour) got the nurse to call my Dr V so that he could talk to him. Dr V explained a little more that in such a small hospital it’s hard to get anesthesiologists to work at night, and on weekends, but he was going to see what he could do.

At about 9:30 my nurse came back in to say the Dr was on his way with an anesthesiologist who had agreed to a different procedure (I can’t remember the name of it). Then she said she wanted to check me again, because the baby was showing signs that I was moving along faster than she thought. Sure enough, I was dilated 8-9. Dr V arrived right after that, and assured us that if an epidural is a 10 on the pain control scale this other procedure is a 9. The anesthesiologist was waiting in the hall for Dr V to check me and make sure that I had enough time to have the procedure . Dr V checked and said that I was only dilated to 7 and that he would go get the anesthesiologist. As soon as Dr V closed the door, I had another contraction, and it was apparent that this baby was not going to wait I had to push right then. Luckily the Dr and the nurse were right outside the door because they hardly made it back into the room as it was. Jillian made her way into the world in 3 pushes. They didn’t even have time to fix the bed, she was born right there on it! The relief as soon as she was out was AMAZING. That’s about all that I remember from the rest of that night, because the Nubain did it’s job as soon as she was born, and I pretty much passed out.

She’s a beautiful addition to the family, and we could not be happier. She has lots of dark hair (pictures for proof to follow soon), sleeps pretty well, and nurses like a champ. She and I spent an extra day in the hospital because her jaundice levels were high and the Dr wanted to keep her under the Billi lights for a day. We’re home now and couldn’t be happier to be settling into our new routine!

 

11 Responses to “Introducing Wee Bear”

  1. Edie C Says:

    Thank you for the picture and the post. I’ve been checking every day since Jillian Abigail (great name!!) was born. Can’t wait for more pictures.
    I went natural for Josh and Grace, but with Abbey, I needed a little help. It was too late for an epidural, so they gave me something like Nubain. It was so weird. I would fall asleep for 30 seconds between contractions, wake up for the contraction and then fall back asleep.
    Anyways, congratulations to all!!

  2. Emily Straw Says:

    Wow you are wonderful!! Congratulations on a beautiful baby girl! We love you and can’t wait to meet her!!

  3. Granny Says:

    We are so happy to have number ten great grandbaby – she’s a beautiful little girl and she’s a Gallupian!

  4. Carrie Says:

    Oh Liesl! She’s amazingly beautiful! And you are so brave and strong for facing her delivery without an epi and not having a nervous breakdown like I would have. God bless you!

    I can’t wait to see more photos!

  5. Janna Says:

    I have to tell you that your story is slightly different than Rob’s, but in all the ways I’d expect seeing that he has never given birth… ;o) I love you and I can’t wait to meet this precious little one!

  6. Janna Says:

    I have to tell you that your story is slightly different than Rob’s, but in all the ways I’d expect seeing that he has never given birth… ;o) I love you and I can’t wait to meet this precious little one!

  7. Mom Says:

    Give her a kiss for me. I miss you all already. I’ll see you soon.

  8. WOW! WOW! WOW! I can’t even believe it! You are super hero!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t WAIT to see you guys when you’re in town! I’m so proud of you hunnie! Great job! Wish I were there to give you a big big hug! And to take pics of the new little feet and hands!!!!

  9. Mary Vigil Says:

    First – good job mama – you did a good job – I cannot believe there was no magic drug…. I can not wait to see her – I miss you – Love you!

  10. Mom Says:

    It’s baby Jilli’s one week birthday tonight!


Leave a Reply

