It’s Just Speaz

That’s All…

Lookie what I did :) September 23, 2008

Filed under: Baby Sanchez #4,Firsts,Parenting — justspeaz @ 10:47 am
Tags: , , , ,

I’d like to preface this post by saying that I have hardly ever touched a sewing machine in my life. I had about a month’s worth of lessons when I was ten or so… Sure wish that I’d taken more. So, for my birthday this year, I decided since we were moving out in the middle of no where, I would get myself a sewing machine and a couple of books and teach myself to do it. So far, I’ve completed three successful projects. Which, I think, is pretty good, especially for me. These are my two most recent.

First a hooter hider (I didn’t name it I just sewed it) It’s a nursing shawl, that keeps you covered, but there’s a piece of boning at the top around the neck that makes it stick out so mommy can still look down and see what she’s doing.  It also has a strap to hold it up so you don’t have to worry about it falling down or baby pulling it off.

It’s reversible, and I made the strap so the opposite color goes on the opposite side.

Then, I made a matching changing pad, and burp cloths.

They have terry cloth on the opposite side.

Kaylynn hasn’t been able to keep her hands off the material, so when I knew I had a little left over I made her a burp cloth for her baby.

Some of the pictures are a little blurry, and I wish I had one with the Hooter Hider on, to show you how it works, but our memory card bit the big one after the carnival on Sunday. You can google Hooter Hider, and see how they work.

 

13 Responses to “Lookie what I did :)”

  1. Dad Says:

    Great job what’s next!

    Love, Dad

  2. Granny Says:

    I’m so proud of you teaching yourself. I learned to sew when I was about your age but I had a neighbor who was a wonderful teacher. I never would have learned if I had to teach myself. Good for you! I like your choice of material, too.

  3. Mom Says:

    They’re adorable…not the same fabric as the diaper bag is it? How come we don’t have a picture of it? I guess hooter hider is as good as boobie blanket! I think it’s precious that you made a burp cloth for Kaylynn’s baby.

  4. Emily Straw Says:

    I love it!!!! You did such a great job! And great choices in fabric too!

  5. Edie C. Says:

    When I was in school 30+ years ago, they had this class called Home Ec. and we learned to sew. Can you imagine??!!! But, even before that my mom taught me to sew. When the girls were little, I made them quite a few things and currently there are too many ‘good intention’ projects waiting in my craft pile to sew. Maybe someday I will get back to them. I really love to sew.
    “Hooter Hider” – too funny!!!!

  6. Terri Says:

    That is so totally cool! You did a wonderful job with the projects you did, they are beautiful! thanks for sharing!

  7. Janna Says:

    FANTASTIC!

  8. Aunty Penn Says:

    Liesl, Those are the coolest things ever and your choice of fabrics was GREAT! When you start making lots and lots because all your friends want them, check out Etsy online. Sort of a crafters e-bay. Uhhhmmmmm……Hooter Hider? Boobie Blanket? Where’s Grandad, when you need him? He’d probably weigh in with ‘tit tent’.

  9. Mom Says:

    Did this take the place of Wordless Wednesday?

  10. Mom Says:

    Penn, You probably just won the favorite comments contest again this week. You crack me up.

  11. maryvigil Says:

    I love them… I miss you- want to hang out soon? Call me! I love your blog… I have read almost every post and am just loving the kids and missing them like crazy! Love you! Mary

  12. blythewhite Says:

    nicely done! i am impressed!

  13. pennepasta Says:

    Wow! I look back through you blogs and suddenly my picture turns up just like when Lucy said the spell and the Dufflepuds appeared–a little bizarre, actually. You’ll probably think so, too. Shudder. New name, too. It’s the curse of the blog. Just look away….


Leave a Reply

