It’s Just Speaz

That’s All…

“Spiders…the spiders… they want me to tap dance.” ~Ron Weasely July 16, 2008

Filed under: Life in Gallup — justspeaz @ 11:20 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

When we were living in CO, we had spiders, not very often, we saw one maybe once a week. I’ve always been a spider squisher, in my eyes there’s no reason to keep them around. Rob, on the other hand would catch them in a cup and take them outside. So, if I saw one, I would give him a chance to save the spider, otherwise I would squish it.

Since we’ve moved to the ranch, we are both spider squishers, though, I think that Rob might be more adamant about it than I am now. There are spiders everywhere! Most of them are still just the common brown house spiders, there are an awful lot of daddy long leg looking spiders in the bathroom, though, I’m not totally convinced that that’s what they are… So far, we’ve caught one Tarantula, and seen two more. Those are kind of cool, they say we’ll see bigger ones in the fall.  Gabe has assured us that there are no brown recluses in the area, and from the research I’ve done, I’m convinced that he’s right, and we don’t need to be concerned about those spiders in particular. He has also assured us that there are Harry Potter sized black widows in the root cellar. Have you ever read anything about the root cellar before? No, you say??? That’s because we avoid it, neither of us has any inclination to get into a skirmish with Aragog —>

The spiders mostly come out at night. Even if we still have all the lights on, at about 11pm, they start pouring in from whatever crack they’ve been hiding. We squish an awful lot of spiders after dark. Which is fine when we’re down stairs, but once we get upstairs it’s a whole different battle. We have a thin little mattress on the floor, and the kids sleep on the floor in sleeping bags. So, we like to keep a careful eye out for the spiders up stairs. I still don’t like spiders, and I certainly don’t want them crawling on me in my sleep. But, I think I’ve kind of resolved myself to the fact that it’s probably going to happen. And, I’ve convinced myself that if I get a bite from a spider, it’s probably not going to be any worse than an annoying bite from a mosquito, or the stupid buffalo gnats. The spider bites I have last (and itch) a little longer than the plain bug bites, but I haven’t gotten deathly ill, had my flesh start rotting away, or even gotten the little poison vein things that run off of a bite.

Rob, on the other hand, his night is totally RUINED if we see a spider on the floor of our bedroom. Every night when we go to bed we shake everything out meticulously. No spiders in the bed? Check, now we can get in. If while we’re reading, one of us sees one we both jump out of bed try desperately to squish the thing before it makes it back to it’s hidey hole. Then we have to shake the whole bed out, while Rob tries to holler quietly (so he won’t wake the kids) about “stupid spiders” “I hate this” “I’m not going to be able to sleep” “I might as well just go back down stairs”… You can probably fill in the blank with your own ruined night rant. If I move the wrong way after he’s already asleep, he’s sure it’s a spider on me or on him. That happens a lot I’m five months pregnant. My spider saving man, has changed his tune 🙂

We’re both TOTALLY over the spiders. A few things I’ve read, say things like spiders are friends, just wave at them as they pass. The other things I’ve read say squish first, ask questions later. I’m in the squish first camp. So, now, I’m looking into ways to keep them away altogether. My aunt and uncle live in a wooded area, with lots of spiders (my uncle even got bit by a black widow). They use Hedge Apples.   If I remember right my ucle pretty much swore by them, and said they hadn’t seen any spiders since they put them in the house. I’ll give those a try in a heart beat. We might even resort to getting one of those plug in things that emits a frequency so high even your dogs can’t hear it, but it’s annoying enough to keep spiders and all other buggy pests away. If you have any sure fire suggestions, be sure to let me know.

I’ll leave you with a few things I’ve learned about spiders.

1. (I think this is the funniest) If you catch a spider in your house and let it go outside to save it from the fate of a squished spider, you’ve really killed just about as quickly, as you would have if you had squished it. Spiders that are in the house live in the house, and can’t survive outside.

2. Brown recluse spiders are actually very hard to identify. They do not have a fiddle on their back. It’s actually a very minuscule fiddle on their head between their eyes. The best indicator is they have four sets of two eyes set in a checker pattern, instead of two sets of four eyes in straight lines like most spiders. But, there are other spiders that have the same eye pattern. So, the only real way to tell a brown recluse is to take it to lab that knows about spiders.

3. Brown recluses are not all over the US, they actually mostly only live in the south east. And 85% of flesh eating wounds that are diagnosed as brown recluse bites actually aren’t brown recluse bites. The misdiagnosis occurs because there’s no way to test the wound and see if that’s the real cause. So, people who don’t live in the SE probably didn’t actually get a brown recluse bite.

4. You probably won’t swallow any spiders while sleeping in your lifetime.

If you want to read more spider myths and trivia, click on the link and check it out.

 

10 Responses to ““Spiders…the spiders… they want me to tap dance.” ~Ron Weasely”

  1. Janna Says:

    I’ve learned to shake out my towels after emerging from the shower. My bathroom is in the basement and apparently they love to hide there. Nothing is worse than getting out of the shower, wrapping up in a fluffy towel, and then feeling something crawling down your arm… eeek!

  2. Mom Says:

    You may not swallow spiders in your sleep, however….I’ve also read that the average person will swallow (awake or asleep) 8 bugs in their lifetime. This of course does not take into account little kids who swallow bugs on purpose! Remember Aidan and the fly?

  3. Micah Says:

    i think i just threw up in my mouth a little bit.

    i hate spiders. fire of a thousand suns hate them.

  4. Terri Spratte Says:

    Thanks for sharing. Spiders scare me to death and get goose bumps if one crawls on me. eek…

  5. Rob in Gallup Says:

    It’s amazing to me that I could go from being pretty okay with spiders to having a downright loathing of them in such a short amount of time. Really, I don’t think they bother me unless I’m sleeping, but now I look at each spider as being one that could potentially end up in the bedroom in the middle of the night, hence it needs to die. Preemptive strike, right?

  6. Aunty Penn Says:

    Spiders. Ick. (shudder, gag) The real problem with spiders is how darn FAST they are. They race out from their hiding places– and then stop dead in their tracks like old energizer bunnies trying to remember why they were headed to the carrot patch. Then, with no warning whatsoever, they’re off like lightening…..and seem to have some infernal radar that makes them head right for YOU. And you know they’ll crawl up you leg before you get a chance to do your ‘squishing’ routine, so you react naturally: jump, scream, curse, flail away madly with whatever comes to hand. Ahhhhh…..the bloom comes off the strawbale house adventure….. Been there…….

  7. Mom Says:

    We’re having an earwig problem at our house this year. They’re everywhere and I don’t know how they get there. Ick!

  8. Janna Says:

    By the way, hedge apples work really well. Just put them on a piece of waxed paper to protect the floors. LOVE YOU!

  9. Corrie Says:

    I think I might get nightmares! I’m so proud of you guys for being adapted to the spiders. I don’t think I could do it! Amazing. Ew. Amazing. 🙂 Miss you!

  10. jamie amundgaard Says:

    Okay, so we had a spider problem in Castle Rock after James was born. We used the electric things and If felt like it made a difference!!! We now are haveing a similar issue in Wellington, so we are running through options again.
    Miss you guys!
    Jamie


Leave a Reply

